• Fri. Jan 27th, 2023

CPS board elects Jones, Copeland-Dansby as officers

Carolyn Jones is surrounded by her family as she takes the oath of office to become the new president of Cincinnati Public Schools’ Board of Education. Photo by Lauren Worley

By Lauren Worley

Cincinnati Public Schools

The Cincinnati Board of Education elected Carolyn Jones as president and Ericka Copeland-Dansby vice president at its organizational meeting Monday, January. 8. Four members, including two elected in November, were sworn in to the board, and board committee memberships were determined at the meeting.

“I’m honored to lead the Cincinnati Public School Board of Education in this exciting year,” Jones said. “I’m looking forward to the opportunity to work with the superintendent and administration as we continue to increase enrollment, expand preschool opportunities, enhance neighborhood schools and effectively steward the community’s investment in public education.”

Ericka Copeland-Dansby vice president is sworn in as vice president of the CPS Board of Education. Photo by Lauren Worley

Copeland-Dansby said, “I look forward to continuing the work of the district, especially continuing to invest in our neighborhood schools, ensuring rigorous community engagement, and continuing to move academic achievement for all of our students while pursuing equitable opportunities for all,” Copeland-Dansby said.

The following board committee memberships were determined at the organizational meeting:

Finance: Melanie Bates, Ericka Copeland-Dansby, Ryan Messer

Policy: Melanie Bates, Eve Bolton, Mike Moroski

Student Achievement Committee: Eve Bolton, Mike Moroski, Lannis Timmons

Board District and Community Strategic Planning Committee: This is an emerging committee. Initial members will include Eve Bolton, Ericka Copeland-Dansby, Ryan Messer, Mike Moroski.