Coach Zac Taylor, Bengals Owner Mike Brown, and Former Player Icky Woods. Photo by Michael Patton

By Herald Staff

The Cincinnati Bengals are Super Bowl bound winning the National Football League’s AFC Championship game by beating the Kansas City Chiefs 27 to 24 on Sunday at Arrowhead Stadium.

The Bengals were down as many as 18 in the first half before going into halftime down 21 to 10 after an Evan McPherson field goal and a 41 yards TD catch from Joe Burrow.

The second half the Bengals Defense stood their ground holding the Chiefs to just 3 points sacking #15-Patrick Mahomes 4 times twice by #94-Sam Hubbard and interception by #92-B.J. Hill. Then the Bengals #1-Ja’Marr Chase scored a 22 yard TD catch from Joe Burrow in the third quarter adding two more points to that and another field goal from McPherson.

The Chiefs added a field goal late in the fourth quarter send the game into overtime where a early OT interception by #24-Vonn Bell set up a 31 yard field by #2-Evan McPherson to send the the Cincinnati Bengals to the 56th Super Bowl to be held in Los Angelas.

The Bengals will play the Los Angeles Rams at Super Bowl LVI on Sunday, Feb. 13 at 6:30 p.m. The game will be broadcast on NBC, the streaming service Peacock, and on the NBC Sports App.

All Photos by: Michael Patton

[Best_Wordpress_Gallery id=”52″ gal_title=”Bengals AFC Championship”]

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *