• Tue. Dec 6th, 2022

By Herald Staff

The Cincinnati Bengals are Super Bowl bound winning the National Football League’s AFC Championship game by beating the Kansas City Chiefs 27 to 24 on Sunday at Arrowhead Stadium.

The Bengals were down as many as 18 in the first half before going into halftime down 21 to 10 after an Evan McPherson field goal and a 41 yards TD catch from Joe Burrow.

The second half the Bengals Defense stood their ground holding the Chiefs to just 3 points sacking #15-Patrick Mahomes 4 times twice by #94-Sam Hubbard and interception by #92-B.J. Hill. Then the Bengals #1-Ja’Marr Chase scored a 22 yard TD catch from Joe Burrow in the third quarter adding two more points to that and another field goal from McPherson.

The Chiefs added a field goal late in the fourth quarter send the game into overtime where a early OT interception by #24-Vonn Bell set up a 31 yard field by #2-Evan McPherson to send the the Cincinnati Bengals to the 56th Super Bowl to be held in Los Angelas.

The Bengals will play the Los Angeles Rams at Super Bowl LVI on Sunday, Feb. 13 at 6:30 p.m. The game will be broadcast on NBC, the streaming service Peacock, and on the NBC Sports App.

All Photos by: Michael Patton

Former Bengals players
At the AFC Championship game Sunday were, from left, Joe Kelly, Akeem Davis-Gaither and Ickey Woods. Kelly and Woods played in the heartbreaking Super Bowl XXIII, that some say was doomed from the start, but that is another story. An injury forced linebacker David-Gaither out for this season. Photo by Michael Patton
« of 11 »