Hamilton County Commissioner Alicia Reece picks up the gavel after being elected President of the commission. Former president Commissioner Stephanie Summerow Dumas is at right. Photo by Michael Mitchell

By Bridget Doherty 

Hamilton County Commission

At the organizational meeting of the Hamilton County Board of County Commissioners, Commission President Stephanie Summerow Dumas passed the gavel after a unanimous vote to elect Commissioner Alicia Reece as president and Commissioner Denise Driehaus as vice president. 

Statutorily, the President of the Board presides over regular meetings and special sessions of the board. The annual organizational meeting of the Board must occur, by law, no later than the second Monday of January. Additionally in Hamilton County, the president sets the agenda for Tuesday staff meetings with input from the other commission offices.

Hamilton County Commissioners following reorganization. From left are Stephanie Summer Dumas, outgoing President; Alicia Reece, incoming President; and Denise Driehaus, Vice President.

“Our goal is for Hamilton County to be number one   in the country to live, work, own a business, visit for tourism and be cutting edge on new technology,” said the newly-elected President of the Board Alicia Reece.

President Reece made two major announcements: she will be delivering the State of the County on January 31; and will be unveiling the 513Relief Bus later this month (details to follow). “We are taking action now,” said President Reece.

Members of the prominent Mallory Family were present for the installation of Alicia Reece as County Commission President. From left Joe Mallory, President of Cincinnati NAACP Branch, Judge Duane Mallory, Reece, former Mayor Mark Mallory and former State Rep. Dale Mallory. Photo by Michael Mitchell

“I am grateful for the opportunity to continue serving the citizens of Hamilton County,” said Vice President Denise Driehaus. “We will do everything in our power to ensure the county delivers the best public services at the best cost for our taxpayers.”

“Today is a new chapter in Hamilton County’s history with the first ceremonial Passing of the Gavel,” said Commissioner Stephanie Summerow Dumas who was sworn in as she started her second term in office. “I’m so proud of all the accomplishments and am excited about the new initiatives coming in 2023.”

County Commission member Stephanie Summerow Dumas, who was re-elected in November, receives a hand bump from Judge Fanon Rucker after being sworn in at the commission meeting. Photo by Michael Mitchell

Commissioners also determined which boards and commissions they will each join. President Alicia Reece was appointed to the Board of Revision, Records Commission, Family and Children First Council, Hamilton County Investment Advisory Committee, Hamilton County Economic Recovery Task Force and VisitCincy CVB.

Vice President Denise Driehaus will sit on the executive board of REDI Cincinnati, Hamilton County Recycling and Solid Waste District, and Hamilton County Storm Water District Oversight Board and Hamilton County Investment Advisory Committee.

Commissioner Stephanie Summerow Dumas was appointed to the Southwest Ohio Region Workforce Investment Board. All commissioners sit on these boards: Hamilton County Land Reutilization Corporation; Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana Regional Council of Governments; OneOhio Region 2 Recovery Foundation Governance Board; and the Hamilton County Emergency Management Agency.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *