LSU Tigers women's basketball team. Photo from Twitter

By Herald Staff

The LSU Tigers defeated the Iowa Hawkeyes 102-85 to win the 2023 NCAA women’s basketball championship, its first-ever national title. The Tigers and Hawkeyes combined for the most points in title game history.

LSU also set a record for points by a team in the final.

Even though Iowa’s Caitlin Clark, who was named AP Player of the Year, scored 30 points, this could not stop the dominant force of Jasmine Carson.

Carson scored 21 points within the first 20 minutes of the game, and even though Iowa tried to mount a comeback later in the game, foul trouble prevented Iowa from winning the title.

In addition, LSU had two other 20-point scorers in Alexis Morris and LaDazhia Williams.

LSU Coach Kim Mulkey is one of the few coaches with four or more national titles, and is the first coach to win it all in two different programs.

Mulkey was the head coach for Baylor for over 20 years and won three championships with the team.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *